Guilty By Eavesdropping

So today in medical assistant school, in the lab class, I was sitting at the table with Geraldo and Jessica.  Just us three. Got that?  On our table, empty seat, then Jessica, then next table with Anisa, then Fran, then Alisa.  Across from Alisa, on other side is Matthew, then J, then Maria.  On the same side, but next table, Gerald, then me. Okay.

A new student came to sit at the table, in the empty next to Jessica and across from me.  Noe said to her to move to the other table (there are three tables), on the other side of the room.  As new student went away, Geraldo said “Hey, come back any time, because we are the cool table.”  Jessica said “why are we the cool table?” Geraldo said, “Because we just are, the cool table!”  I said, “Hey, don’t talk about coolness.  Somebody’s going to believe you.”  Gerald says (jokingly), “Why? We are the cool table.”  I said in a whisper, “You will get in trouble, believe me, just don’t say that.”  Gerald says, “No, nobody’s going to get in trouble.”  I said, whispering, “Yes, you will.  I will get in trouble.”  Jessica said, “What do you mean?  Why?”  I said, “Never mind.”  I look in the corner  of my mind, and I see Noe getting up and walking up to our table, stops at Geraldo, and walks back to the third table.  I don’t know what or why he did that.  I swear, he is only hearing the words “cool” and “we.”  I don’t know whether he thinks I said any such thing, but for some reason, this joking really ticks him off.  I think he was ready to say something to me.  Because why?  I don’t know.  It wasn’t like anybody was swearing or being mean.  Believe me, the students have said the “F” word and such things, and nobody bats an eye.  I never said anything mean or cursed.  But this Noe guy, he gets extremely upset if anybody says something about being a “cool table” or “cool group.”

Leave a Reply

